About the Committee:

The Society for a Science of Clinical Psychology (SSCP) established the SSCP Diversity Committee in April 2014. One impetus for establishing this committee was the results of a survey of SSCP members that revealed the disparity between our Society’s value of diversity and the actual representation of diverse groups among our membership. This uncomfortable discrepancy between preaching and practice exists across the field of Clinical Science.

To work towards a future SSCP that embodies and promotes a more diverse clinical science community, the SSCP Diversity Committee has been tasked with two goals:

1) To support and increase the diversity of SSCP membership, and 

2) To further the mission of clinical psychological science as it applies to diversity issues.

A fundamental guiding principle of the Diversity Committee is facilitation of impactful change on the topic of diversity in our clinical science community. In service of our goals, we are committed to leading and supporting initiatives and activities that have measurable outcomes and go beyond merely increasing awareness. 


SSCP Diversity Committee Members

Current Committee Members:

  • Lauren Khazem, The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center
  • Marisol Perez, Arizona State University
  • Allison Bond, Rutgers University
  • Simran Bhola, The Ohio State University 
  • Grace Tefend, The Ohio State University 
  • Autumn Kujawa, Vanderbilt University
  • Francesca Gomez, Arizona State University
  • Erica Szkody, Stony Brook University
  • Merage Ghane, University of Pittsburgh
  • Aislinn Sandre, McGill University

Founding Committee Members:

  • Joye Anestis, University of Southern Mississippi
  • Joseph P. Gone, University of Michigan
  • Benjamin Hankin, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • Adam Bryant Miller, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
  • David H. Rosmarin, McLean Hospital/Harvard Medical School
  • Sarah Tarbox, Yale University School of Medicine
  • Yesel Yoon, Pace University, New York

Past Committee Members:

  • Nicholas R. Eaton, Stony Brook University
  • Chardeé A. Galán, University of Pittsburgh
  • Gabriela Hurtado, University of Texas at Austin
  • Juliette M. Iacovino, Washington University in St. Louis
  • Leonard J. Simms, University at Buffalo, The State University of New York
  • Ilana Gratch, Teachers College, Columbia University
  • Joya N. Hampton-Anderson, Emory University School of Medicine
  • Danielle McDuffie, The University of Alabama 
  • Yara Mekawi, Emory University School of Medicine
  • Derek M. Novacek, University of California, Los Angeles
  • Jennifer Pearlstein, University of California, Berkeley
  • Rebecca Revilla, The University of Alabama
  • Brandon J. Weiss, Georgia Southern University
  • Salome Wilfred, University of Missouri - Kansas City